Charsadda is an ancient city located in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province of Pakistan. The region has a rich history that dates back to the Gandhara civilization, which flourished in the area from the 6th century BCE to the 11th century CE.

Ancient History

During ancient times, Charsadda was known as Pushkalavati and was an important center of trade and culture. It was a part of the Achaemenid Empire and later became a part of the Mauryan Empire. The city was a center of Buddhism, and many stupas and monasteries were built during this time.

 The Kushan Period

After the decline of the Mauryan Empire, Charsadda came under the rule of various other empires, including the Indo-Greek, Kushan, and Gupta Empires. It was during the Kushan period that the city reached its zenith and became an important center of art and culture. The Kushans introduced new artistic techniques, such as the Gandhara style, which was a fusion of Greek, Roman, and Indian art.

 Islamic Conquest

In the 7th century CE, Charsadda was conquered by the Arabs and became a part of the Islamic caliphate. The city was later ruled by various Pashtun tribes and became a part of the Mughal Empire in the 16th century.

 British Colonial Era

During the British colonial era, Charsadda was a part of the North-West Frontier Province and played an important role in the independence movement of Pakistan. The region was home to many freedom fighters who fought against British colonial rule.


After the independence of Pakistan in 1947, Charsadda became a part of the newly formed Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province. The city has seen significant development in recent years and is home to many government institutions, educational institutions, and industries.

 Cultural Heritage

Today, Charsadda is a bustling city with a rich cultural heritage. It is home to many historical sites, including the ruins of the ancient city of Pushkalavati, which attract tourists and archaeologists from all over the world. The city is also known for its traditional crafts, such as embroidery and woodcarving, which are passed down from generation to generation.